Da’Quan Bowers Disappoints, Again…

April 1, 2011 at 1:20 pm 1 comment

Today was the much anticipated Pro Day of former Clemson defensive end Da’Quan Bowers.  Coming off surgery in the off-season, the entire league wanted to see him run.  More than 20 NFL teams were in attendance and I wouldn’t be surprised if personell from 30 teams were there.  Todd McShay reported earlier in the week that at least two teams took him off their board entirely because of injury concerns.

What stood out about the workout was that his forty-yard dash was reported in the range of 4.8 to 5.0+.  Many obversers noted that he did not look 100% or at least explosive as they had hoped. It should be noted he did well in the 3-cone drill. Bowers declared himself 100% saying, “I think I had a decent day. I think I got the point across I was trying to get across.”

Robert Quinn of UNC, who is a much more impressive prospect, ran a 40 around 4.57 yesterday at his pro day.  Bowers’ stock is as fluid as any potential top pick.  He could go as high as #2 or fall out of the top 10.  Bowers was a force for the Clemson Tigers but he never jumped off the screen when I was watching a game (thanks ESPN for 4-5 Clemson games @12pm). Despite his impressive size and physique, I struggle to rank him higher than other ends like Clayborn who can effectively play run or pass. I’ve had Bowers in the mid-teens but top 10 in my mock which I’m sure I have to change. Maybe Viking take a shot.


Entry filed under: NFL Draft. Tags: , , , , , .

NFL Draft Preview: Running Back Around the League – NFL Links

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Bret  |  April 2, 2011 at 4:12 pm

    Saved as a favorite, I really like your site! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Welcome to NFL Football Now! A website that examines weekly matchups, Fantasy Football, and the Draft.

Latest Thoughts via Tweet

Archive

Enter your email address to follow my blog.


